Malawi Broadcasting Corporation
Local Local News Politics

Unofficial results: MCP wins all three wards

Unofficial results in the local by-elections the Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) conducted in Kaporo, Chilanga and Rukuru wards in Karonga District show that the Malawi Congress Party (MCP) has won all the seats.

From Chilanga Ward in Karonga North West, the unofficial results are as follows:

Teddy Jailos Kishombe of Alliance for Democracy (AFORD) 151 votesHastings Daniel Mwambafula of Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) 486 votes
Talente Kalambo Mwantalula of Umodzi Party (UP) 33 votes
Abraham Sahara Mwanyasi of the United Development Party 787 votes
Hesco Mwashoghe (independent) 379 votes Ndaziona Mwausegha of UTM 1031 votes
Alick Ng’oma of Malawi Congress Party (MCP) 1,516 votes
Benedicto Mwamsamali Zuze (independent) 883 votes.

Rukuru Ward in Karonga North West Constituency, unofficial results are as follows:

Monica Kaira (UP) 49 votes
Dominic Robson Kamwambi (DPP) 1332 votes
Gift Kumbukani Mwale (MCP) 5858 votes Myness Mwalweni (AFORD) 599 votes
Paul Mwamande (independent) 55 votes Vincent Mwenembako Mwamkonda 419 votes George Glad Mwausegha (UTM) 815 votes

For Kaporo Ward in Karonga North Constituency:

Thimbiko Eddu Kaonga (independent)153 votes
King Ngayambimba Mvula (MCP) 1661votes
Charles Blessings Mwakabagha (NDP) 806 votes
Saidi Mwangwan (UTM) 415 votes
Laston Mwenitete (DPP) 881 votes
Martin Khonya (AFORD) 586 votes.

Out of the 21 candidates that contested, 17 were affiliated to political parties while four were independent candidates.

MEC is expected to announce official results today in the afternoon.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Related posts


McDonald Chiwayula


MBC Online

Man gets 4 years for burglary and theft

Romeo Umali
error: All Content is protected. Copyright © 2022. Malawi Broadcasting Corporation. All Right Reserved.