UDF names new committee: primaries to resume

Written by 

The United Democratic Front (UDF) has reconstituted its primary elections committee, a move that would see resumption of local government and parliamentary primaries.


The party’s publicist Ken Ndanga confirmed the establishment of the new committee, after the dissolution of the old one which led to suspension of the primaries after series of errors.

The new committee which Ndanga referred to a press statement issued by the party’s secretary general, Kandi Padambo, has seven members with Lance Mbewe serving as chairperson deputised by Charles Chikuwo.

Other members of the committee are Aisha Mandulo, Clement Stambuli, Julius Nyambo, Dorothy Nyambo and Ousmane Sauzande.

“The new committee has been tasked to establish a calendar of events and a review of the process. We  hope to finish the primaries by December 30 this year, all things being equal to allow candidates enough time to campaign,” he said.

Ndanga said UDF, which is in partnership with the governing Democratic Progressive Party (DPP), is committed to ensuring that a whole democratic process is followed in the primaries.

Get Your Newsletter