You are here:CategoriesPoliticsIt’s one DPP candidate per constituency, Nankhumwa tells Lower Shire

It’s one DPP candidate per constituency, Nankhumwa tells Lower Shire

Written by  Gladys Maleke and Austin Kakande

Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) Southern Region Vice President Kondwani Nankhumwa has appealed to constituents across Lower Shire to disregard individuals who are claiming to be DPP but contesting on independent tickets.

Nankhumwa and aspirant parliamentarian for Nsanje Lalanje, Gladys Ganda Nankhumwa and aspirant parliamentarian for Nsanje Lalanje, Gladys Ganda

This was the message Nankhumwa was carrying during his tour of the Shire Valley districts of Nsanje and Chikwawa last weekend.

There have been concerns that some independent candidates were confusing voters by claiming that they were DPP members.   The development resulted in DPP having more than one candidate in most of the constituencies in the two districts.

Speaking in Nsanje South West Constituency, for instance, Nankhumwa said after the party’s primary elections, the party through President Arthur Peter Mutharika issued certificates to the winning candidates.

“President Professor Arthur Peter Mutharika issued only one certificate, not two. So it is very wrong for any one to be claiming allegiance to the DPP while contesting on an independent ticket,” said Nankhumwa.

This comes  following media reports that a certain individual by the name Yesaya Chakwamba, who claimed that he was a DPP authority from Southern Region Office, endorsed an independent aspirant Eulita Mtiza as another DPP candidate apart from  Hellen Buluma.

But Nankhumwa said as DPP they do not know any other candidate for the Constituency other than Buluma which the Party declared a winner after Primary Elections.

“The name that you send to us as a winner after Primary Elections is of Hellen Buluma so we as DPP we know her as our candidate in Nsanje South West Constituency not anyone else and I ask you all to vote for DPP candidates in May 21 polls starting from Professor Arthur Peter Mutharika as President, your own daughter here Hellen Buluma as your MP together with DPP shadow councilors,” said Nankhumwa.

And at Nchalo, while responding to concerns from Paramount Chief Lundu on the need for DPP to clear the air on who exactly was representing the party in Chikwawa Central, Nankhumwa openly declared Samuel Ofesi as the party’s candidate.

This again was in response to concerns that another independent candidate, Salim Bagus, was also claiming allegiance to the DPP.

Cumulatively, the Lower Shire has 404, 496 registered voters. In the 2014 elections, DPP won the presidential election and some parliamentary seats in the Lower Shire. DPP’s presidential candidate Mutharika won with 165,047 votes against the second placed People’s Party (PP) candidate’s 41,389 votes.

About us

Malawi Broadcasting Corporation is a public broadcaster mandated and formed by Government under an Act of Parliament in 1964, to enhance the successful implementation of all its social and economic programs...

Social Media

Catch us on these social networks for more information

Facebook Twitter RSS

Get Your Newsletter