13 collect presidential nomination papers

Written by 

As the race for the May 21 Malawi State presidency swings into full gear, at least another 13 aspirants have collected presidential nomination papers from the Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC).

Muluzi: Latest to collect nomination papers Muluzi: Latest to collect nomination papers

This comes barely a day after Democratic Progressive Party- DPP’s front-runner Peter Mutharika, main opposition Malawi Congress Party - MCP’s Lazarus Chakwera, UTM’s Saulos Chilima, and former president Joyce Banda (People’s Party –PP) had collected their papers.

Notable among the latest to collect the papers is Atupele Muluzi, president of the multiparty founding party, United Democratic Front (UDF).

Others who have collected the nomination forms include former vice-president  Dr Cassim Chilumpha of Tikonze Peoples Movement (TPM); Chimbuna Belekiah, United Independence Party (UIP); Dr Chris Daza of the Democratic Peoples Congress (DEPECO) and Peter Kuwani of Mbakuwaku Movement for Development (MMD).

MEC started the process of presenting nomination papers to aspiring candidates for the presidency, Member of Parliament and Local Government from January 3 and the candidates are expected to submit the papers from February 4-8.

All presidential candidates, party or independent are collecting their nomination papers from the Chief Elections Officer at MEC head office and for all aspiring for a seat in the august House and will contest on political party tickets, are getting their nomination papers through their party Secretaries General or any officer designated to do so.

All independent candidates for Parliamentary elections are collecting theirs from their respective Constituency Returning Officers (CROs), District Commissioners or Chief Executives.

Parliamentary and Local Government candidates will submit their papers to their respective Constituency Returning Officers while presidential candidates will submit their nomination papers to the Malawi Electoral Commission at the Chichiri International Conference Centre (COMESA) Hall.

MEC also stressed that every candidate is encouraged to take their nomination papers for pre-inspection from the day they collect the papers up to the time before presenting the nomination papers.

According to MEC nomination fees, male aspiring members of Parliament (MPs) will pay K500 000, female MPs K250 000, youth (less than 35 years) K375 000 and candidates with disabilities K250 000.

In the local government elections, male candidates will pay K40 000, females K20 000, youth K30 000 and those with disabilities K20 000. All these fees are non-refundable.

Get Your Newsletter