Written by 

Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) candidate Symon Vuwa Kaunda on Tuesday added 208 more votes to defeat his rival Ralph Mhone in the Supreme Court sanctioned by-election in Nkhatabay Central Constituency.

Vuwa Kaunda: Triumphs Vuwa Kaunda: Triumphs

Unofficial results from 29 polling centres show Kaunda polled 5,439 votes while his main challenger Raphael Joseph Mhone of the Peoples' Party got 5, 223 votes.


United Democratic Front (UDF) candidate Gabriel Chirwa finished a distance third.

The 216-vote-gap is 208-vote-up from the 2019 nullified results where Kaunda defeated Mhone with an eight-vote margin having polled 6,415 against Mhone’s 6,407.

Kaunda has since told the media on Wednesday that the victory “vindicated earlier stand that I won in May 2019.”

“Today, the same people who voted last time are the ones that have done it again. We thank God and I feel relieved for what has happened,” Kaunda told The Nation on Wednesday.

Mhone was MP for the area in between 2014 and 2019.

Besides the Nkhata Bay Central polls, Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) also conducted by-elections in Nsanje Lalanje Ward in Nsanje Lalanje Constituency and Chikwembere Ward in Blantyre North Constituency.

In Nsanje Lalanje Ward, unofficial results indicate that candidate for the Malawi Congress Party (MCP) Abdulhackeem Hassan has won.

Hassan got 3448 votes followed by DPP’s Gerald Paul who got 2756.

Two other candidates, Henry Bedford Seda and Fraction Lapozo both independent got 599 votes and 51 votes respectively.

The results are from a total of all twelve polling centers, which had twenty five polling stations. According to Malawi Electoral Commission about 17 thousand people registered to vote. The electoral governing body is expected to announce official results of the by elections in due course.

While in Chikwembere Ward, unofficial results are indicating that Flossie Elizabeth Hera of Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) trailed five other candidates at 1681 votes.

Jacks Nkhoma of UDF is standing at 685 votes. MCP's Wyson Makungwa is trailing at third position with 565 votes while Nelson Kalumbi of UTM got 445 votes.

Joyce Chimkwita and Benny Samson who were standing on independent tickets in Tuesday's by elections got 172 and 70 votes respectively. The seat in Chikwembere Ward - Blantyre North fell vacant after death of Councillor Mathews Jirani.

The Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) will officially announce the results at the National Tally Centre, Malawi University of Health Sciences (MUHES) later in the day.

- Additional reporting by Chimwemwe Milulu, Charles Chindongo and Owen Mavula

About us

Malawi Broadcasting Corporation is a public broadcaster mandated and formed by Government under an Act of Parliament in 1964, to enhance the successful implementation of all its social and economic programs...

Social Media

Catch us on these social networks for more information

Facebook Twitter RSS

Get Your Newsletter