Capital Hill institutes anti-COVID-19 measures

Written by 

In an effort to continue providing services to the public amidst the three confirmed COVID-19 cases, Capital Hill, has instituted measures to ensure that the Coronavirus does not hit the seat of Malawi Government.

Capital Hill: The Seat of Malawi Government Capital Hill: The Seat of Malawi Government

In a circular issued on Tuesday, Chief Secretary to Government Lloyd Muhara moved controlling officers and head of departments “to take heed and implement (the) measures as soon as it is practical”.

Among others, Muhara has told all ministries, departments and agencies to “divide its staff into three teams, who will be working in shifts, in order to reduce the number of officers reporting for duty in a day.

“Non- essential services should be scaled down. However, ensure that skeleton staff is available so that the service is not disrupted completely.”

The top civil servant also advised departments to limit meetings to only essential ones but with strict observance of social distance.

Malawi yesterday became the latest country to record positive cases of the Coronavirus with three people who tested positive in Lilongwe.

President Professor Arthur Peter Mutharika, who announced the news last night, appealed for calm in the fight against the virus.

In a brief address monitored through Malawi Broadcasting Corporation (MBC) last-evening, the President said the patients were a 61-year-old Malawian who had returned from India, her relation and a housemaid. The three are residents of Lilongwe.

Malawi’s confirmed cases have left Lesotho and Comoros as the only Southern Africa Development Community (Sadc) countries without COVID-19 cases.

South Africa has 1 462 cases, Mauritius 169, Democratic Republic of Congo 123, Madagascar 59, Zambia 39, Tanzania 20, Namibia 14, Mozambique and Seychelles 10 each, E-swatini (formerly Swaziland) nine, Angola and Zimbabwe eight each and Botswana four.

Get Your Newsletter