50 DPP MPs endorse President Mutharika

Written by 

Fifty Members of Parliament (MPs) from the Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) on Wednesday endorsed President Peter Mutharika as the ruling party’s presidential candidate for 2019 elections.

DPP MPs: APM deserve another term DPP MPs: APM deserve another term

Addressing a media briefing, the legislators said President Mutharika has transformed the nation within a few years of his rule.

MPs said it is a testament of President Mutharika's development agenda that makes them pray for his continued leadership of the country beyond 2019.

The MPs led by Chairperson for backbenchers, Victor Mbewe, hailed President Mutharika for fulfilling a number of promises he made including construction of roads, community colleges, stadiums, modern markets, among other things.

“Mutharika has done a lot in the country and we wish him to continue implementing his plans for the country,” Blantyre North East Constituency MP, Cecilia Chazama, who is also Minister of Home Affairs and Internal Security noted.

On her part, Phalombe North MP, Anna Kachikho said Phalombe as a district has developed for the better with a rural growth centre under construction which was initiated by the President.

Kachikho, who is also Minister of Lands, Housing and Urban Development said people of Phalombe are happy with Mutharika’s development agenda and will continue to support him fulfill his plans.

Get Your Newsletter