Malawi Broadcasting Corporation


Vote counting has ended at Mthandiza TDC with unofficial results showing Willard Gwengwe Malawi Congress Party (MCP) candidate winning the seat for Dedza Central Constituency.

According to tallied results at the Constituency Tally Centre, Gwengwe amassed 7913 votes outclassing Jacob Kaumphawi an independent candidate who tallied 7361 votes while Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) candidate Andrew Kowedza went away with 403 votes.

This means Gwengwe has beaten Kaumphawi with 552 votes to take Dedza Central Constituency as Member of Parliament as per the unofficial results.

Meanwhile, the Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) Chairperson is expected to release official results on Friday, 17 November 2023 at 2 pm at the Agriculture Residential Training Centre.

The three contestants were battling for Dedza Central Constituency following the death of the Member of Parliament for the area, Daniel Chiwere, in July this year.

Reported by Eunice Ndhlovu.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Related posts

MRA to upgrade its BT in-land examination centre

MBC Online

Chakwera participates in SADC summit in Zambia

MBC Online

Chakwera to launch construction of cost-effective classroom blocks

MBC Online
error: All Content is protected. Copyright © 2022. Malawi Broadcasting Corporation. All Right Reserved.