Malawi Broadcasting Corporation

Chitipa elects new council Chairperson

Chitipa District Council has elected Ronald Kayira, Malawi Congress Party (MCP) Councillor for Wenya Ward in Wenya Constituency as a new Council Chairperson unopposed.

Kayira replaces Mahowe Ward Councillor, Toweracharo Munyenyembe.

In his acceptance speech, Kayira assured the members of continued team work to develop the district.

“We have to work as one to continue developing our district of Chitipa. The good working relationship between Councillors and secretariat must continue for the smooth implementation of various developmental projects in the district,” Kayira said.

District Commissioner for Chitipa, MacMillan Magomero assured the newly elected Chairperson and his Vice of secretariat support in discharging their duties.

MCP Yamba Ward Councillor, Wedson Sinkhonde was elected as Chitipa District Council Vice Chairperson with 9 votes beating UTM’s Councillor Thomson Kaponda who got 2 votes.

By Aliko Munde-Mana

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Related posts

MAGLA to build a sports arena at Likhubula

Jeffrey Chinawa

Parliamentary Health Committee laments poor nutrition in public hospitals

Olive Phiri


MBC Online
error: All Content is protected. Copyright © 2022. Malawi Broadcasting Corporation. All Right Reserved.